Key findings
- 1
Of the 125 open robot training roles that quote a pay figure, 88.0% quote it by the hour; 4 as an annual salary, and 11 give a figure with no unit.
- 2
99.2% of roles quoting a figure quote US dollars; the 1 others (EUR) are all quoted per hour.
- 3
52% of roles quoting a figure give a range, 48% a single figure and 0% only a ceiling ('up to').
- 4
81.3% of open roles carry an employment type; of those, 70.5% are contract or freelance and 12.9% full-time or a direct hire, while Avride states none on its 43 roles.
Figure 1
How robot training pay is quoted
Is robot training work paid by the hour, by the task, by the project or by salary?
| Pay quoted | Open roles | Share of roles quoting a figure |
|---|---|---|
| By the hour | 110 | 88.0% |
| Annual salary | 4 | 3.2% |
| A figure with no unit | 11 | 8.8% |
| No pay stated | 620 | n/a |
Sample. 745 roles open at the end of 9 Oct 2026; 125 quote a pay figure in their compensation text.
Read from the compensation text each posting publishes. The unit is the first one the text names ('/hr', 'per task', 'fixed', 'per year'); a text with a figure and no unit ('$400') counts as a figure with no unit.
'Fixed' is a fixed price for the whole job. How often roles state an hourly rate, and what the rates are, is in the pay transparency report.
Source. RobotTraining.jobs Research, How Robot Training Work Is Paid, live data.
Figure 2
The currency pay is quoted in
Is robot training pay quoted in US dollars, and which roles quote another currency?
| Currency | Roles quoting it | Share of roles quoting a figure | Units quoted |
|---|---|---|---|
| US dollar (USD) | 124 | 99.2% | hour (109), no unit (11), year (4) |
| Euro (EUR) | 1 | 0.8% | hour (1) |
Sample. 125 roles open at the end of 9 Oct 2026 that quote a pay figure.
A '$' is read as US dollars, the currency the boards publish it in; a currency code ('EUR 31850 per year') is read as written. Figures in other currencies are never converted or counted as US dollar rates.
Source. RobotTraining.jobs Research, How Robot Training Work Is Paid, live data.
Figure 3
Range, single figure or 'up to', by employer
Which employers quote a pay range, a single rate or only a ceiling?
| Employer | Range | Single figure | Up to |
|---|---|---|---|
| All employers | 52.0% | 48.0% | 0.0% |
| TSMGSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| AvrideSmall sample | 0.0% | 100.0% | 0.0% |
| micro1 | 75.0% | 25.0% | 0.0% |
| Claru | 0.0% | 100.0% | 0.0% |
| GatikSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Serve Robotics | 0.0% | 100.0% | 0.0% |
| Aurora Innovation | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Dyna RoboticsSmall sample | 87.5% | 12.5% | 0.0% |
| Figure AISmall sample | 37.5% | 62.5% | 0.0% |
| WaabiSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| ZiplineSmall sample | 75.0% | 25.0% | 0.0% |
| NuroSmall sample | 0.0% | 100.0% | 0.0% |
| Collaborative RoboticsSmall sample | 40.0% | 60.0% | 0.0% |
| Kodiak AISmall sample | 0.0% | 100.0% | 0.0% |
| DexmateSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Nimble RoboticsSmall sample | 66.7% | 33.3% | 0.0% |
| PykaSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Shield AISmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Stack AVSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Sunday RoboticsSmall sample | 33.3% | 66.7% | 0.0% |
| 1X TechnologiesSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Tutor IntelligenceSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| VaySmall sample | 0.0% | 100.0% | 0.0% |
| Agility RoboticsSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| AppenSmall sample | 0.0% | 100.0% | 0.0% |
| Generalist AISmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Havoc AISmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Physical IntelligenceSmall sample | 0.0% | 100.0% | 0.0% |
| ProntoSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Reliable RoboticsSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| SamaSmall sample | 0.0% | 100.0% | 0.0% |
| SkydioSmall sample | 100.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
Sample. 125 roles open at the end of 9 Oct 2026 that quote a pay figure, by the employer that lists them; shares are of each employer's roles quoting a figure.
Range: two different figures ('$40 to $75/hr'). Single figure: one ('$65 per hour', or a range whose ends are equal). Up to: only a ceiling ('up to $31/hr'), so what most workers earn is not stated. From: only a floor ('$30+/hr').
Employers whose roles quote no figure are left out of the rows and counted in 'All employers'.
Source. RobotTraining.jobs Research, How Robot Training Work Is Paid, live data.
Figure 4
The engagement types job boards state
Is robot training work offered as contract, freelance, part-time or full-time work?
| Engagement type stated | Open roles | Share of open roles |
|---|---|---|
| Freelance or independent contractor | 1 | 0.1% |
| Contract | 426 | 57.2% |
| Hourly | 1 | 0.1% |
| Part-time | 100 | 13.4% |
| Full-time | 78 | 10.5% |
| Not stated | 139 | 18.7% |
Sample. 745 roles open at the end of 9 Oct 2026; 606 carry an employment type in their board's own field.
Read from the employment-type field each board publishes, normalised: 'Freelance-Remote' and 'Independent Contractor - Project Based' are freelance, 'FullTime' and 'Full Time' are full-time. A field naming no engagement type ('Remote') counts as not stated.
Some boards state a pay basis or a commitment (hourly, part-time, full-time) rather than a contract form; full-time can be a full-time contract or employment. Description mentions of contractor or full-time terms are in the requirements report.
Source. RobotTraining.jobs Research, How Robot Training Work Is Paid, live data.
Figure 5
Engagement type by employer
Which employers offer contract or freelance work, and which state hours or employment?
| Employer | Main type stated | Its share of roles stating a type | Roles stating a type |
|---|---|---|---|
| TSMG | Contract | 78.6% | 99.8% |
| Avride | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| micro1 | Contract | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Claru | Contract | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Gatik | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Serve Robotics | Part-time | 58.3% | 100.0% |
| Aurora Innovation | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| WaymoSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Dyna RoboticsSmall sample | Contract | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Figure AISmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| WaabiSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| ZiplineSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Anduril IndustriesSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| ISEESmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| NuroSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| SaronicSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Collaborative RoboticsSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Genesis AISmall sample | Contract | 60.0% | 100.0% |
| Kodiak AISmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Skild AISmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| WayveSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 75.0% |
| DexmateSmall sample | Contract | 66.7% | 100.0% |
| FS StudioSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Nimble RoboticsSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| PerleSmall sample | Contract | 66.7% | 100.0% |
| PykaSmall sample | Contract | 50.0% | 66.7% |
| SereactSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Shield AISmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 33.3% |
| Stack AVSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Sunday RoboticsSmall sample | Contract | 66.7% | 100.0% |
| 1X TechnologiesSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Bot AutoSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Cota RoboticsSmall sample | Full-time | 50.0% | 100.0% |
| HumanoidSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Keywords StudiosSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| May MobilitySmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| MonumentalSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| NerosSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Rhoda AISmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| RoboForceSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Tutor IntelligenceSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| VaySmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| AdexisSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Agility RoboticsSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Allen Control SystemsSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| AppenSmall sample | Freelance or independent contractor | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| DexorySmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Generalist AISmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Havoc AISmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Maven RoboticsSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Mind RoboticsSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| MotionalSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Physical IntelligenceSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| ProntoSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| Reliable RoboticsSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| SamaSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| SkydioSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| SkywaysSmall sample | Full-time | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| Torc RoboticsSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
| WingSmall sample | Not stated | n/a | 0.0% |
Sample. 745 roles open at the end of 9 Oct 2026, by the employer that lists them (listings, not hires).
An employer whose board has no employment-type field shows 'Not stated' for every role, whatever its descriptions say.
Source. RobotTraining.jobs Research, How Robot Training Work Is Paid, live data.
Figure 6
How often and through what workers are paid
Do robot training roles say when and how they pay out?
| Term stated | Roles stating it | Share of roles read |
|---|---|---|
| Any payout schedule stated | 0 | n/a |
| Paid weekly | 0 | n/a |
| Paid every two weeks | 0 | n/a |
| Paid monthly | 0 | n/a |
| Paid on completion or approval | 0 | n/a |
| Paid per milestone | 0 | n/a |
| Any payout service named | 0 | n/a |
| Paid through Stripe | 0 | n/a |
| Paid through PayPal | 0 | n/a |
| Paid through Deel | 0 | n/a |
| Paid through Wise | 0 | n/a |
| Paid through Payoneer | 0 | n/a |
| Paid through Airtm | 0 | n/a |
| Bank transfer or direct deposit | 0 | n/a |
Sample. 0 roles open on 9 Oct 2026 whose job board publishes a full description (), 0.0% of all open roles.
A schedule counts only when the description ties it to pay ('paid weekly via Stripe', 'weekly pay'); a 'weekly sync' or a 'weekly commitment' does not. A service counts only beside a pay word ('paid via', 'payouts through'): a PayPal account asked for as data to share does not.
Every row is listed, also at zero, so a service no description names reads as none.
Source. RobotTraining.jobs Research, How Robot Training Work Is Paid, live data.
Figure 7
Conditions and extras of pay
Is robot training pay tied to finished tasks, and do roles offer bonuses or paid screening?
| Term stated | Roles stating it | Share of roles read |
|---|---|---|
| Paid per task or other output | 0 | n/a |
| Of them, also advertising an hourly rate | 0 | n/a |
| A bonus or incentive (any) | 0 | n/a |
| Performance or quality bonus | 0 | n/a |
| Referral bonus | 0 | n/a |
| Sign-on bonus | 0 | n/a |
| Incentive or surge pay | 0 | n/a |
| A paid assessment, pilot, interview or onboarding | 0 | n/a |
| An unpaid assessment or trial | 0 | n/a |
| An 'up to' pay figure | 0 | n/a |
Sample. 0 roles open on 9 Oct 2026 whose job board publishes a full description (), 0.0% of all open roles.
Paid per task or other output: the description says pay is per task, submission or asset (usually one that is approved, accepted or meets the project's specifications), or that compensation is output- or task-based. Such roles may still advertise an hourly figure, as an estimate of what the tasks pay.
A bonus counts when the description offers one (a referral, quality, milestone, speed or sign-on bonus, performance incentives, surge pay); 'a second language is a bonus' does not. 'No unpaid assessment' is not counted as an unpaid assessment.
Source. RobotTraining.jobs Research, How Robot Training Work Is Paid, live data.
Figure 8
Per-task rates
What does a task pay when robot training work is paid per task?
| Kind of work | Roles quoting a per-task rate | Median per task | Lowest to highest |
|---|---|---|---|
| All kinds of workSmall sample | 0 | n/a | n/a |
Sample. 0 roles open at the end of 9 Oct 2026 whose compensation text quotes a US dollar rate per task.
Each role counts once, at the middle of its range. Medians need at least 8 roles; 'up to' figures are left out.
A task can take minutes or a working day: the descriptions of these roles estimate from under an hour to more than ten hours a task, so a per-task rate is not comparable with an hourly one.
Source. RobotTraining.jobs Research, How Robot Training Work Is Paid, live data.
For robotics labs, fleet operators, data vendors and researchers
Put this data to work
A custom cut
Any figure for your countries, cities, kinds of work, vehicles or dates.
A regular feed
The same figures weekly or monthly, as files or through the data endpoints.
Your company, benchmarked
Your listings, pay and reach against the market, from public job boards.
Method and definitions
The public job boards of the robot training employers and programs this site tracks, read every day: each open role's compensation text and employment type, and the full description of every open role whose board publishes one. Every figure is computed by one database query over the window shown, the same query for the live report and for every edition. Each figure states its sample beneath it.
- Pay unit
- Read from the compensation text a posting publishes: the first unit it names ('/hr', 'per task', 'fixed', 'per year'). A figure with no unit ('$400') is counted as such, never assigned one. 'Fixed' is a fixed price for the whole job.
- Currency
- A '$' is read as US dollars, the currency the boards publish it in; a code ('EUR 31850 per year') is read as written. Other currencies are never converted.
- Range, single figure, up to, from
- A range gives two different figures; a single figure gives one (or a range whose ends are equal); 'up to' gives only a ceiling; 'from' only a floor.
- Engagement type
- The employment-type field a job board publishes, normalised: contract; freelance or independent contractor; hourly; task-based; part-time; full-time; direct hire. A field naming no engagement type, or no field, is not stated.
- Per-task rate
- A US dollar figure the compensation text quotes per task (the middle of a range). Medians need at least 8 roles; 'up to' figures are left out.
- Payout schedule and service
- Read from a full description only where tied to pay: 'paid weekly via Stripe' counts, a weekly sync does not.
- Paid per task or other output
- The description says pay is per task, submission, video or asset (usually one approved or accepted), or that compensation is output- or task-based.
- Described roles
- Roles open at the end of the window whose job board publishes a full description. Each figure read from descriptions states how many roles and employers that is.
- Open role
- A role listed by a given day and still in its employer's feed that day.
- Window
- Live: the last 28 complete days, in UTC. Edition: one calendar month, in UTC.
What this data cannot tell you
- Many employers post one description per city, so a large employer's template weighs on every share read from descriptions.
- A posting states pay as its board publishes it: what a worker is paid after overtime, shift differentials or bonuses is not known, and an hourly figure on a role paid per video or task is an estimate.
- A description that does not mention a term counts as not stating it; employers may pay weekly or through a service they do not name in the posting.
- Engagement types are what each board's own field says, and boards use the field differently.
- Employers that recruit without a public job board are not counted.
How the job feeds are read and roles are classified: site methodology. How fresh, complete and consistent the data is, checked every day: data quality and coverage.
Editions
The live report covers the last 28 complete days and changes every day. Each complete month is also published as an edition, frozen two days after the month ends, so a figure you cite from an edition never moves.
- Live dataLast 28 complete days, recomputed daily
Cite and reuse
Free to quote, chart and republish under CC BY 4.0 with a link to this page. Live figures change daily: cite a monthly edition for numbers that will read the same later, or keep the access date.
Citation
RobotTraining.jobs (2026). How Robot Training Work Is Paid (live data, 12 Sep 2026 to 9 Oct 2026). https://robottraining.jobs/research/how-robot-training-work-is-paid (accessed 10 Oct 2026)
BibTeX
@misc{robottrainingjobs_how_robot_training_work_is_paid_live,
author = {{RobotTraining.jobs}},
title = {How Robot Training Work Is Paid (live data, 12 Sep 2026 to 9 Oct 2026)},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {\url{https://robottraining.jobs/research/how-robot-training-work-is-paid}},
note = {Accessed 10 Oct 2026},
}Data: all figures as CSV (one line per value) or JSON. Every figure also downloads on its own. More open data: datasets and API.
More research
- How Robot Training Roles Advertise PayHow often do robot training roles state their pay, how are the rates distributed and how wide are the ranges?Read the report
- Where Robot Training Work Is OpenWho may apply to robot training roles, country by country?Read the report
- Robot Training Pay TrendsIs the advertised rate for each kind of robot training work rising or falling?Read the report
- What Raises Robot Training PayWhich traits of a robot training role come with higher advertised pay, compared within the same kind of work?Read the report
- On-Site Robot Training WorkHow much robot training work is on-site rather than at home, where is it, and what is it?Read the report
- The Robot Training Jobs IndexIs the market for human robot training work growing, week by week?Read the report
- The State of Robot Training PayWhat does robot training work pay, by kind of work and by employer?Read the report